Date of presidential elections to be determined – Pressa.tj

As reported by Kurbonzoda Navruz, on media issues, Machlisi Milli, on August 6, the deputies of both chambers of the Tajik parliament will gather for a joint session, during which they will set the date for the presidential elections.

Elections to the parliament itself were also held in 2020 – on March 1 to the lower house and on March 27 to the upper one. In the Majlisi Milli (the upper house of parliament), 33 senators have been elected, 25 of whom are from the city of Dushanbe and the regions of the republic, and eight more are to be appointed by decree of the President of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon (currently only six have been appointed). The lower house consists of 63 members.
Thus, 94 members of parliament will participate in the joint session.
Presidential elections
The presidential elections in Tajikistan will be the sixth in a row since the country’s independence. The first presidential elections in the newly independent republic were held in November 1991, when Rakhmon Nabiyev became the head of state. The incumbent President Emomali Rahmon came to power in 1992, when he was elected chairman of the Supreme Council of the republic (the post of president at that time was abolished). After that, elections for the head of state were held in 1994, 1999, 2006 and 2013, Rahmon won all of them. The current head of state received the largest number of votes – 97.6% – in the 1999 elections.

The president is elected by secret ballot for a term of seven years. The candidate must be a citizen of Tajikistan who has lived in the country for at least the last 10 years, be fluent in the state (Tajik) language, have a higher education, and be at least 30 years old. To be admitted to the elections, a presidential candidate must collect signatures of at least 5% of voters in his support.
Elections are considered valid if more than 50% of voters participate. The candidate with more than 50% of the vote is elected president. One person has the right to run for an unlimited number of times.
Previous elections
The previous presidential elections were held on November 6, 2013. Rahmon, who heads the ruling People’s Democratic Party of Tajikistan, received then 83.9% (over 3 million) of the votes with a turnout of more than 86.6%. Along with Rahmon, five more candidates participated in the election race – Ismoil Talbakov from the Communist Party, Talibek Bukhoriev from the Agrarian Party, Olimjon Boboev from the Economic Reform Party, Abdukhalim Gafforov from the Socialist Party and Saidjafar Ismonov from the Democratic Party of Tajikistan. All of them received from 1% to 5% of the votes, the source said.
Nelly Deinarovich


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button